Return to Website

Community Service Officer Forum

Here is where any civilian law enforcement personel can share work experiences, problems, ideas, and promote equality in the workplace. Please join the discussion.

Community Service Officer Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
CSO - warranted Officers?

I am a CSO for my police service. I am a warranted Police Officer, I carry a gun and badge and wear the same uniform as everyone else n the force.I was hired under a program called 1000 Officers Safer Communites program in Ontario. My position in particular, I do not take ANY calls. I focus on community events, prevention and awarness to certain issues. I spend a lot of time in our schools doing presentations on bike safety, fire prevention drug prevention ect. I am curios as I have been reading that some of you are not warranted, how can that be? Is that not a safety issue?

Re: CSO - warranted Officers?

I think you are confusing Community Service Officer which is the common term for a civilian with limited powers of arrest in the United States with a Community Relations Officer or a Crime Prevention Officer which is often (but not always)a sworn officers position.
Community Service Officers are not sworn in by the state and not allowed to carry firearms.

Re: Re: CSO - warranted Officers?

irregardless of the mix up, it is BS that CSO's in todays age don't qualify for carry. I can't see why anyone would want to put a uniformed officer in a govt marked vehicle out on the street taking complaints etc and not arm them.

Re: Re: Re: CSO - warranted Officers?

It's all about the money!!!!!
And it means that the patrol officers don't have to take calls that they find demeaning AKA abandoned vehicles, dog calls, parking complaints.
They pay me 48K to do my job and I take 25% more calls for service than a patrol officer getting paid 70K. On a per call basis I am half the cost of a patrol officer.
Do More - Save More

Re: Re: Re: Re: CSO - warranted Officers?