Maine Fishing Reports from The Rangeley Lakes Region

Check our Maine fishing forum for fishing reports from Registered Maine Guides and Fishing Tackle Shops in the Rangeley Lakes Region of Western Maine. The Rangeley Lakes Region is a four reason resort area reknown for fly fishing and trolling for trophy size Landlocked Salmon and Brook Trout.

Maine Fishing Reports from The Rangeley Lakes Region
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Quimby Pond

Quimby Pond has alway been known to be slow fishing but to also hold some very large Brook trout. I have been fishing Quimby since 1964 and the trout are larger now than ever.I owned and ran Quimby Pond Camps comercially in the 1970's and 1980's and always had good fishing there but never had as many big fish as there is now. The biggest problem is there are very few small fish being caught this may be a problem for the future. On Sunday August2 I guided Crissie and Bruce from California on Quimby. Crissie caught the first fish 18" estimated to be 21/2 lbs really good fight on her 4wt.rod. Bruce caught the next fish a 21" bruiser, very thick around the girth, male, color showing I estimated to be 4lbs+. Crissie hooked the next fish and fought it for almost 10 minutes and the fish never came up so that we could see it but it turned our boat around 3 or 4 times and finally was lost. I would have liked to have seen thatn one.
Tight Lines
RAY
rrguides@gmail.com

Re: Quimby Pond